Malcolm Owen On June 14, 2006 at 5:20 am

That sequel to that game with the Mercury. You know. Mercury…

Ignition Entertainment Ltd is today pleased to announce the sequel to the highly acclaimed PSP™ (PlayStation® Portable) exclusive Archer Maclean’s™ Mercury™.

Scheduled for a September 2006 European release, Mercury Meltdown will expand massively on the unique game play and look already experienced in the award-winning original (PSP innovation Award 2005 – IGN, Famitsu Magazine Gold Award).

Once again taking control of the liquid Mercury ‘blob’, players must avoid various obstacles and hazards to reach the end goal. The Mercury blob itself has now been given an overhaul and has 4 varying ‘states’ – Normal, Solid, Fast and Slow. These states allow for larger more complex levels, which in turn mean a greater challenge and more enjoyment to be had for the player.

The number of levels has more than doubled – now 160+, and with the newly added feature of Downloadable Content more levels will be made available at a later date, via Sony Computer Entertainment Europe’s official website.

Wireless 2 Player modes have also been an important addition, with 5 sub games each providing a challenge against the computer or a friend.

‘For Mercury Meltdown, we have listened to the feedback received from the first title and have also added many new additional ideas’, says Vijay Chadha, Managing Director, Ignition Entertainment Ltd, ‘While remaining true to the first game, Mercury Meltdown has a more accessible look and feel designed to appeal to everyone.’

Mercury Meltdown Features:

  • All new graphic Style
  • Over 160+ new and challenging levels
  • New Wireless Multiplayer games modes
  • Hidden Labs and Party games to unlock
  • State-of-the-art blob physics
  • Free look and Replay modes
  • Fairer Game progression
  • Super Fast load times
  • Tutorial Mode
  • Downloadable content
  • Game Share

More details to follow over the coming months.

Mercury Meltdown for the PSP™ (PlayStation® Portable) system is scheduled for release September 2006.

For more information please visit

Comments are closed.